Welcome

RAS Events

Fri, 28/06/2019 - 10:00am to Thu, 04/07/2019 - 6:00pm
    Africa Writes 2019 – Bristol   Friday 28th June – Thursday 4th July Venues across the city,... more
Fri, 05/07/2019 - 7:00pm to Sun, 07/07/2019 - 7:00pm
  Africa Writes 2019 Dates: Friday 5th July - Sunday 7th July 2019 Venue: British Library, 96 Euston Rd, London NW1 2DB Africa... more

African Arguments

Wednesday, 22 May 2019 - 10:41am
From assuming superiority to stealing ideas,... more
Tuesday, 21 May 2019 - 11:45am
African Arguments is and always will be freely-... more

RAS News

Wednesday, 6 February 2019
Written by Hetty Bailey, Policy & Advocacy Coordinator, Royal African Society
    On Tuesday 22nd January the APPG for Africa working in coalition with the APPG for Diaspora, Development and Migration... more

Follow the conversation

RT : African middle class re-examined keynote opening remakes by Panel includes Dr Maxim Bolt editor a… https://t.co/ol2DGPsJP1
17 hours 19 min ago
Check out the amazing programme from our sister festival ! A weekend of books & celebration, 5-7 Jul… https://t.co/hh67Mmcp5j
1 day 11 hours ago

Director's Blog

Last month, in mid-April, I visited Addis Ababa with a group from SOAS’s Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy to talk to people about multilateral diplomacy in Africa and the respective roles of the African Union, United Nations and individual national governments. We struck lucky,... more