Events

We run an exciting and extensive programme of events on a variety of topics for audiences with an interest in Africa. The majority of our events are open to the general public. Our programme of events include regular talks, book launches, and events run in partnership with other organisations. We hold an Annual Lecture and two highly popular festivals, Africa Writes, the UK’s largest literary festival focused on African writers and their readers, and Film Africa, our annual celebration of African cinema. 

Photo: Siddharth Khajuria

Tuesday, 30 April 2019 - 3:30pm to 4:30pm
  118th AGM of the Royal African Society Date & Time: Tuesday 30th April 2019, 3.30 - 4.30pm Venue: Room G3 (Ground floor to the left of the main reception desk), SOAS, Russell Square, London WC1H 0XG.   Members are invited to the Annual General Meeting of the Royal African Society, which will be followed by a reception with RAS staff and Council... more
Tuesday, 7 May 2019 - 6:00pm to 7:30pm
  South Africa Pre-election Briefing Tuesday 7th May, 2019 Alumni Lecture Theatre (SALT), Paul Webley Wing, SOAS   On the 8th of May 2019 South Africans will head to the keenly anticipated 6th National and Provincial Elections. The ruling ANC's incumbent candidate President Cyril Ramaphosa faces off with the liberal, pro-business Democratic Alliance and the populist... more
Thursday, 23 May 2019 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
    The African Middle Class Workshop Thursday 23rd May , 17:00 - 19:00, followed by a reception The Park Restaurant, London Business School   Who are Africa's rising middle class? What are the defining characteristics and how important is it for businesses to understand them to grow their brands in any market? To find out the answers to these... more
Saturday, 29 June 2019 - 10:00am to Thursday, 4 July 2019 - 6:00pm
    Africa Writes 2019 – Bristol Date: Saturday 29th June – Thursday 4th July Venues: TBA   Save the dates for a series of book launches, panels, performances and workshops celebrating contemporary literature from Africa, the South West and the diaspora. The programme will include a full day of activities on the Saturday, followed by a series... more
Friday, 5 July 2019 - 7:00pm to Sunday, 7 July 2019 - 7:00pm
  Africa Writes 2019 Dates: Friday 5th July - Sunday 7th July 2019 Venue: British Library, 96 Euston Rd, London NW1 2DB Africa Writes is back this summer with an exciting programme showcasing the best new writing from the continent and the diaspora, Friday 5th July to Sunday 7th July at the British Library.   We are delighted to welcome Chigozie Obioma as the... more